Make your own free website on


                                                                                                                                                                       Home Contact Us


Our Club HistoryMission and VisionThe Zonta SymbolsThe Zonta Prayer & SongOfficersMembersProjects

About Zonta InternationalZonta in the Philippines


Our Club History

The Zonta Club of Greater Rizal II was first convened on June 1992 by the charter President of Greater Rizal Foundation Ms. Nona Ricafort, who together with then President Ms. Myrna T. Yao met with a core group of business women at the Ricafort home in Valle Verde I, Pasig City.

From this core group, committed at the Zonta’s spirit of civic work, community and worldwide service, the GREATER RIZAL II CLUB was born. The honorable Senate President Neptali Gonzales on October 9, 1992 swore in the first set of newly elected directors and officers at the Shangrila Plaza Hotel. This was during the term of Lt. District Governor Olivia Ferry and our guiding Zontian Ms. Imelda "Dandy" Gomez. The new club was registered as Club No. 1395 Area I, District 17 at the Zonta International Roster of Members.

The Charter Officers and Members in the biennium were the following: President Myrna T. Yao (1992-1996), EVP Ceferina G. Co; VP Program Ichi M. Yabut; VP Operations Teresita Martinez; VP Finance Norma L. Chan; Secretary Recording Amada L. Cunanan; Asst. Sec. Recording Elvira G. Sumadchat; Secretary Correspondence Divina Lupe M. Lazaro; Asst. Sec. Correspondence Thelma Paredes; Sec Correspondence 2nd Nizza Vergel de Dios; Treasurer Maura C. So; Asst. Treas. Aida M Jalandoon; 2nd Asst. Treas. Menchu Pascual; Press Relation Officer Mannie Garcia; Media Relation Officer Myrla Bajar; Auditor Lydia C. Tan; and Directors Rosita Lim, Belle Borromeo and Beth Quismoro, Liza Co was over-all chair of projects. Other members were Linda Elequin (Golden Z Club), Celing Tongos, Leonor Berroya, Guia Castillo, Cynthia Castaneda, Ichay Lizares and Lolita A. Sy.

Ceferina G. Co, a gentle and very friendly executive was elected next President in the biennium 1996-1998. She invited her friends in real estate to join, thus increasing the original membership of 27 to 36.

Norma L. Chan, "busy as a bee", elected president for the biennium 1998-2000, encouraged members to keep the fire of commitment burning to uplift the lives of Filipinos, especially women and the less fortunate. She generously led and maintained the yearly medical/dental project in Barangay Bungad SFDM, QC. Livelihood and nutrition projects as well as catechism classes were also held regularly. Other projects included Silong Tanglaw, Tahanang Walang Hagdanan, School of the Deaf and the Blind, Sr. Perpinan’s Battered Women’s Project, and Judge Juan Luna High School Scholarship among many others. She received the Districy Governor’s Award for Exemplary Achievement from then Governor Brenda Tanjutco.

The late Lydia c. Tan was the next president for the biennium 2000-2002. Her being an active IPP of the Rotary Club San Miguel did not deter her concern for various projects and encouraged many lady members of her Rotary club to join Zonta GRII.

Maura So, as we fondly called "Moring" was elected President for biennium 2002-2004. She contributed greatly to raising the awareness of how women can be agents of development and positive change in an ever-changing world. She implemented programs and projects that benefit women, children and the poor. Her "Push Cart" for a Living Project earned ZCGRII the "Most Promising Service Project Award during the District 17 Conference in November 2003.

The hardworking Susana de Jesus was elected President for the biennium 2004-2006. And with very supportive husband Luis, she was able to cope with her business endeavors as easily as her Zonta’s Plans of Action. She continued the existing projects of the club like the Medical/Dental missions, the Push Carts for a living and the scholarships for the poor but deserving high school students of Ramon Magsaysay in Edsa, Cubao. Susana also achieved the impossible by pursuing the Entrepreneurship Program and Projects of ZCGRII.

Dr. Divina Lupe M. Lazaro, the incumbent president for the biennium 2006-2008 has committed herself for the stewardship[ of ZCGRII by initiating new endeavors and continuing the projects of her predecessors.